RSS

Books in Print: Createspace

11 Jun

So on my road to self publishing I’m trying to get my books from pages on the internet to pages in print. There are a few different sites that offer this service at no cost to the writer.

For now let’s talk about createspace.
This is one of the sister companies to amazon so when your book is ready to go into the great big world you have an automatic distributer in amazon which is a great thing. I know there are lots of people who distrust smaller sites but amazon is tried and tested so people are happy to use their personal details to purchase a copy of your book. They have great cover editing software that allows writers to build covers from the ground up which is fantastic!

The issue however is that when your book  comes out to be well over 2oo pages things start to get quite costly. One of my books at about 320 pages would cost $16 to print in paperback!

There are other sites that do the same thing for less and the quality of the work is fantastic, I’ll be talking about them later, but none of them have the same reach and innate trust that Amazon do….

So the real question for a self publishing writer like me is:

Is $16 too much to pay for a book?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 11/06/2011 in Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Books in Print: Createspace

  1. Kassandra Duric

    13/06/2011 at 2:19 pm

    $16 to get a book published? Hell that’s cheap! I’d do it! Which site was that again?

     
    • jennyt82

      13/06/2011 at 2:27 pm

      It isn’t $16 to get the book published, it’s $16 for any potential buyers…..

       
  2. Rose

    13/06/2011 at 6:06 pm

    I don’t think that is to much concidering my book in soft cover is almost $14 that’s pretty cheap, most books are $20

     
  3. 秋月 キサキ

    16/06/2011 at 12:12 pm

    Hmm. To someone like me, who loves to read, I’d pay that much (and a bit more) for a book, but I usually go through a mental checklist of questions before purchasing (even bibliophiles have a budget XD), especially if I’ve never heard of the author before.

    1. Is the summary interesting?
    2. How established is the author? or, Have my friends heard of/read books by this person?
    3. Do the title, summary and cover art go well together?

    If I can answer yes to all the above, I’d buy the book. 🙂

     

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
