RSS

A Question of Cover Art

18 Jun

– ‘Never Judge a book by it’s cover’

No matter how many times people hear this quote it isn’t going to stop them from doing the exact opposite. Images matter and no one will be able to convince me otherwise. Having a decent cover for your book is paramount in the world of self publishing where your book has to essentially sell itself. Now while I’m relatively happy with the work I’ve done for my Love Bites series I’m constantly working on finding something good enough for my Elemental Passions Series.

Choosing the cover to your book is not nearly as easy as I once thought it was.

To save myself from tearing my hair out I need help. Any help! I’ve redesigned

them until my eyes have gone funny so now I’m asking for outside opinions.

Which do you prefer?

Seared By Desire

Rocked By Passion

 
 

16 responses to “A Question of Cover Art

  1. Melissa

    18/06/2011 at 1:21 pm

    They are all lovely but I think I prefer the first group, I can’t explain why just that they call to me more^^

     
  2. Tatianna

    18/06/2011 at 2:46 pm

    Personally I like the second set of both covers, the contrast between the light and dark work. In the stories, being the children of elements has this darkness all around them but when you look into the prophecies or oracles there is a glimmer of light, which is portrayed in the images of these covers.

     
  3. Katya

    18/06/2011 at 5:18 pm

    I voted for the second set of both covers because I like the contrast between the image and the background, as well as making the text pop out. Considering the content of both novels, it has the element of mystery and of the unknown, which really works for your novels ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  4. Candace

    18/06/2011 at 8:47 pm

    I agree that covers are VERY important. Especially for self pubbed books. As a reviewer I have pretty much the whole world of books to choose from and I have to narrow it down somehow. Too many books SOUND good, so I do tend to judge the cover as well. I try not to, but sometimes I just can’t help it.
    I *think* I like 1 and 1 best. But to be honest I think I like both sets pretty well. It’s a hard choice! I just like the natural element to set one.

    I’m stopping by because of the intro sent out from Book Blogs!
    Candace
    http://www.candacesbookblog.com

     
  5. Kassandra Duric

    19/06/2011 at 10:40 pm

    Well out of these sets of covers I have to say that I like the second sets.

     
  6. PriscilaGB

    20/06/2011 at 2:44 pm

    I voted for the two second sets of covers because they called more to me. I like the dark contrast, I think they fit better with your stories.

    Best of luck!

     
  7. NeverEver

    20/06/2011 at 3:26 pm

    Hey Jennifer, I tried to give you an amazon review but they say you have to purchase the item first and I have less than zero money…

    Anyway, I love your books and I tried!!!

     
  8. VanC

    20/06/2011 at 8:36 pm

    I like the second set for both. To me, it’s better that they follow the same theme. So I like that they match up, with the only things really being different are the titles and the pictures (and it looks like undertone colors maybe, but they’re close enough to easily tell they’re the same set). I also like how simple and clean they are. As well as what other comments have said about the contrast in colors and it fitting with the content/elements of the stories themselves.

    I do like the first one for Rocked by Passion, but as I mentioned, I think things work better in themes, and I don’t really like the first one for Seared by Desire. Also, there are minute differences that don’t seem like they would matter, but I always think the smallest things make the difference. Such as with one saying “Elemental Passions” and the other not. The theme of the pictures themselves also don’t seem to really follow the same pattern, with one just being embers and the other actually having a cloaked figure in it.

    Hopefully this was helpful and not TOO much explanation. ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, I’m really enjoying Whirlwind of Pleasure so far. Sorry, I was so focused on coming over here to vote on the covers that I completely spaced on reviewing on FictionPress. Well, good luck, I hear self-publishing is even harder than normal publishing, but you’ve got supporters! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  9. Christi

    20/06/2011 at 11:45 pm

    I think the 2nd ones look more professional. The fonts are lovely, and the placement of the title is great. Also, I like the pictures in the second ones better. The fog in Rocked by Passion is obviously perfect, and the coals in Seared by desire look more menacing than the coals in the first.

     
  10. Miss A.

    21/06/2011 at 5:14 am

    I like the second one in Seared by Desire and the first one for Rocked by Passion, but I agree that they should follow the same theme
    .
    keep up the good work and lots of luck. ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  11. Holly

    22/06/2011 at 2:48 am

    The second set for both. They just look more sophisticated to me, for some reason. ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  12. Ellen

    22/06/2011 at 5:41 am

    It’s fairly unanimous, but I’ll weigh in. I like the second set for the contrast. I think the images convey the title better.
    Cheers,
    Ellen – visiting from BB

     
  13. Ellen

    22/06/2011 at 5:42 am

    OH! and I think the actual titles stand out better on the second set. A VERY important point. ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
  14. BonaFideReflections

    23/06/2011 at 3:24 pm

    IMO, if you want more of a romantic slant to entice your potential readers, I would go with the first set. If the book is more action-packed, the second set is the one to go with. ;-D Best of luck!

    Happy Writing, – Laurielu

     
  15. Grace

    24/06/2011 at 2:07 am

    I like the dark colors…. its more passionate and eye catching.

     
  16. unsocialliving

    27/06/2011 at 5:57 am

    I prefer the second cover of each book.
    It seems… more visually pleasing to have a slightly blurred picture, so you can focus on the title(s).

     

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
