RSS

Mad as a hatter and with just as little time…

03 Jul

Before I embarked on my journey of self publication and the inevitable madness that followed, I was a great deal more understanding when people said they were busy. That’s completely changed now. Now when I hear someone tell me how busy they are I can barely resist the urge to chuckle to myself. (There are times when the crazy just needs to come out).

I used to think I was busy but then I started self publishing which really threw everything into perspective. If I was running to stand still before now I’ve run to a car dealership, driven to an airport, got on a plane and am still behind.

I never realised just how time consuming some things could be, rewarding yes, but also very time consuming. At the moment I’m a writer, editor, designer and marketer all at once. Oh and let’s not forget that I still have to perform in my full time job….My head hurts just thinking about it.

But the reason I can keep doing what I’m doing is because I’ve been touched by that beautiful thing called Writer’s Madness…. Okay so I might have made the term up but I’m hoping it’ll spread. Let me explain. I personally think that all writers are a bit crazy, some more than others but we all have it. There is no other profession in the world where it’s universally accepted to hear voices in your head at all times of the day. Granted they may all be screaming the same thing…”Write me! Write me!” But the point is still a valid one. Writers are all a little insane but that’s fine with me. Want to know why? Because there’s brilliance in madness and while I haven’t managed to get much writing done this week I was able to create not one but TWO pieces of cover art. Take a look =)

I’m actually quite proud of them, what do you guys think?

So I’m probably half way to being institutionalised due to manic overstretch but at least I’ll be able to focus on writing. Mad people are always busy because they have better things to do. Yup, now that I think about it…I’m mad as a hatter and PROUD. Why you ask? In the words of Aristotle

“There is no great genius without a touch of madness.”

I suppose that must mean the crazier I am, the better my writing will be. If that’s the case then bring on the crazy!

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Mad as a hatter and with just as little time…

  1. Bruce McIntire

    03/07/2011 at 7:10 am

    Well said Great information, keep up the great work!

     
  2. 秋月 キサキ

    03/07/2011 at 9:10 am

    Looking good. :3

    Would you consider putting “Elemental Passions” underneath the titles, in smaller text? If the two are grouped together, it’s easier to understand that the smaller text is the title of the series.

     
    • jennyt82

      03/07/2011 at 8:20 pm

      Good idea =)
      I’ve changed it on my hardcopy of the images I just need to do a sweep and change it on amazon and smashwords. I’m going to wait for a few more days to see if there are another other useful suggestions that I should incorporate into the covers.
      Thank you!

       
  3. Kassandra Duric

    03/07/2011 at 9:26 pm

    Well I do have to agree with you on the madness part.

     
    • jennyt82

      03/07/2011 at 9:38 pm

      I knew I wasn’t the only one who thought so.

       
  4. Lindsay

    03/07/2011 at 11:39 pm

    Ain’t writers madness fun?

     
  5. lbdarling

    04/07/2011 at 7:15 pm

    I never thought I’d be so busy as a self-published writer either! But we wear so many hats that we never stop, dawn til dusk, we’re movin’ groovin’ promotin’ and shakin’ the tree! Your covers are nice, if you ever need any help with them let me know! I’m always glad to help an author who is proudly self-published.

     
  6. NeverEver

    05/07/2011 at 6:06 am

    i still kind of like the other covers without the naked dudes lol
    once i promised myself that i would never buy a book with a half-naked guy on the front so maybe it’s just my prejudice 😛

     

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
