RSS

Serialisation? Seriously?

16 Jul

So today I was struck by lightning, well in the theoretical sense of the word. I had a great idea. Serialisation. Some of you might be thinking, what on earth is she talking about and before my eureka moment I would have thought the same but things are different now.

Let me explain myself (heavens above I do a lot of explaining of my actions don’t I?….Moving on from my moment(s) of madness!). For those of you that don’t know, serialisation is essentially publication of an ongoing piece of work on a regular basis. I’m thinking along the lines of once a week. Probably Monday. The first piece of work I ever wrote was only finished because of serialising online, the support and feedback I got was AMAZING!! I’m not sure I’d be doing what I’m doing now without the help of that website.

Sadly as those of you that’ve read my plagiarism post know the actions of a few can ruin things for the many but I’m thinking of doing it again! I’m thinking of putting my work back out there in the great wide world of the internet for your viewing pleasure.

Good idea? Bad idea? I’m still not sure that’s why I’m asking you wonderful people!

Should I put my current WIP on my blog for you guys to read until it’s finished? Who would be interested in  reading Whirlwind of Pleasure, the third story in my Elemental Passions? Shall I tell you what it’s about? I don’t have a blurb yet but here goes.

In this book we’re following Gwen and Nicholas, two people who couldn’t be more different. A tormented lycan and a cursed air elemental.

So on the one hand we have Nicholas, beta to the entire lycan species.

I’m going to be honest, Nicholas might not be to everyone’s liking. Yes it’s true he’s a beta, the second in command, but he certainly doesn’t act like it. He might seem a bit demanding, occasionally a little cruel and always intent on getting what’s his.

On the other hand we have Gwen, an air elemental cursed like her brethren.


The curse hanging over Gwen’s head is disaster, nothing she ever does goes well and when you’re convinced that your curse is going to kill someone you keep everyone at arms length…or at least she tries to but Nicholas won’t be denied.

Throw in a life changing contest with a reward that’s literally out of this world, a little ‘friendly’ competition from a vampire equally determined to win, a few gods and scorching hot sexual tension and we have a book!! The question is: Is it a book you’d want to read?

All opinions on the matter are much appreciated!!

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Serialisation? Seriously?

  1. Tania

    17/07/2011 at 2:51 am

    I think its a great idea. Although there may be chances of people plagiarizing your work, there are many more people who support you. I myself hate those who plagiarize other’s work and claim it’s theirs but there will always be this threat around, so the choice is whether to be scared of it and don’t post or post anyway and not care. It hurts when people plagiarize however, look on the bright side, there are many others who will gain more from reading right?

     
  2. Sam

    17/07/2011 at 6:16 pm

    I really like Whirlwind of Pleasure, I like the concept and from reading the summary I’m really going to enjoy the things to come, thanks for putting your writing back online.

     
  3. Kassandra Duric

    18/07/2011 at 1:29 pm

    You know my opinion on the matter. I do agree with you taking the wolf series down. Not only have you been plagiarized quite a bit, but you have it published now (Whether that’s only self published or not), make your readers buy the book to read it again. As for the Elemental series, I’d keep it up until it’s complete and published.

    I’d also like to point out that that pic of Nicholas you put up is really hot, I don’t like his personality in the book, but now I really have a new look at what he looks like and can’t see why Gwen would turn him down, unless of course it was his personality alone. lol

     
  4. Ami Alaniz

    19/07/2011 at 5:04 am

    I believe that your published works should remain off of the internet. I mean, you worked hard to get them published (even if you did it yourself), and you deserve the money you earn from your hard work and dedication.
    If you feel that you might not publish your Elemental Passions series, then by all means, post it all on the world wide web. I personally follow your progress on there, this blog, and now facebook.
    Perhaps, in order to get more people to come to your blog and also keep track of plagiarism (you’ll have a list of everyone with access to your facebook and what not), you should post your WIP on your website. However, aren’t you updating it on Fictionpress.com?

     
    • Ami Alaniz

      19/07/2011 at 5:05 am

      Oh, and I like the pictures of Gwen and Nicholas that you posted. They kind of look like their personalities, if you get what I mean.

       
    • jennyt82

      21/07/2011 at 8:38 am

      I’ve taken your advice on board and have removed all my stories from fictionpress. I guess all good things really do come to an end. It was because of fictionpress that i finished my first story and I really wanted to keep my work available for them for as long as possible….
      It’s a sad day today. It was necessary but still, it’s sad.

       

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
