RSS

The end of an Era….Farewell Fictionpress…..

28 Jul

This week has been an emotional rollercoaster with more ups and downs than I thought possible! It’s a good thing I’m already ‘mad as a hatter’ because if I weren’t author crazy already I’d have been making my way down that path by now. It all started with a blog post, one that I wrote myself so I have no one to blame but me for my current suffering.

I blame it all on ‘Serialisation? Seriously?’

I’m probably not making much sense right now so let me explain.

Every writer has a beginning but to be honest it wasn’t the beginning that was important for me, it was the middle. In the beginning I, like many other authors, wrote in school and all the way through college into university. The problem I had in the beginning was that I could NEVER finish anything!! I had so many ideas and I thought they all deserved a chance to become a book and so I tried to write more than one thing at a time and never finished anything! Very frustrating but then the middle came.

What was the middle I hear you ask. The middle was the internet and a site called fictionpress. It was on this site that I started to write for an audience that wasn’t just myself and the few select friends that I allowed to read my work, I was able to put my work out there on a global scale for critique and I got it. I found that people actually enjoyed my work! It was a very heady sensation to put it mildly and when I had people requesting more I was spurred into action. I hated reading stories that were fantastic only for the author to leave it incomplete and I vowed never to be a writer like that and I wasn’t. I wrote a chapter every week and without fail made it available on a Monday morning. I became well known for being so on time. The only time I didn’t manage to put something online was when there was no internet in my house. I remember getting a message on my phone from a reader who thought I’d died or something because I didn’t update for two weeks!

I’m getting sidetracked! Let me get to the point….the blog post, Serialisation? Seriously?, got two very important responses, read on!

Post one from fictionpress reader:

Subject: Your books

I was reading your blog and you were talking about serialization and that somehow got me thinking of something completely unrelated. If you were to complete a story before posting it on fiction press and make the complete story available for purchase while simultaneously posting chapters week by week, your sales will most likely increase by a lot, because impatient people like me will want the book immediately instead of having to wait months to read it completely. Just a suggestion.

Post two from blog follower (Ami) :


I believe that your published works should remain off of the internet. I mean, you worked hard to get them published (even if you did it yourself), and you deserve the money you earn from your hard work and dedication.
If you feel that you might not publish your Elemental Passions series, then by all means, post it all on the world wide web. I personally follow your progress on there, this blog, and now facebook.
Perhaps, in order to get more people to come to your blog and also keep track of plagiarism (you’ll have a list of everyone with access to your facebook and what not), you should post your WIP on your website. However, aren’t you updating it on fictionpress.com?

They both make very good points.
I am now technically a published author so I shouldn’t be making my work available for viewing like I am at the moment. However, fictionpress is where it all began and so I didn’t want to just up sticks and leave. I really tried to stick it out but after:

– Three years

– Five stories

– Three separate cases of plagiarism

and over half a million words

It’s over!! My time as a fictionpress writer has come to and end but even though I’m going back to university, have signed on to being the interview co-ordinator for parayournormal and am doing all sorts of wonderful things with the amazing writers over on facebook, I’m hoping that my presence on fictionpress doesn’t fade. I’ve made some amazing friends and am always up for helping any aspiring authors over there because there are some really great stories over there by some equally amazing writers.

This may be the end of an era but the ‘age’ has just begun!!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The end of an Era….Farewell Fictionpress…..

  1. let.this.go

    28/07/2011 at 1:55 pm

    😦 I’m sad that you’re leaving, but happy for you that you have published your work. You will definitely be missed on fictionpress, but at least your work will still be available to buy. I’m always surprised when I find an amazing writer on fictionpress that offers their work for free when they are talented enough to sell it. I can only imagine all the hard work you put into your stories. You deserve to be compensated for it. Thanks for posting your stories all this time, and good luck in the future!

     
    • jennyt82

      28/07/2011 at 9:33 pm

      Thanks for all the well wishes!! Keep yourself posted on what I’m doing by checking out my blog every now and then. I’m planning on doing a monthly giveaway here so keep your eyes peeled. The plan (if I can call the rough idea floating in my head that) is to let you guys vote on which book you’d like then to do a small contest based on that book and then one reader will get a copy of the book sent to them! Good idea? Bad idea? Any thoughts anyone?

       
  2. Sam

    30/07/2011 at 1:30 am

    I don’t think you need contests to keep your readers interested, you are an amazing writer after all so you can just let your reading do that for you. I’m really going to miss your weekly updates but I can’t wait til you finish your next story, I’m really looking forward to reading it. Good luck in university and with your publishing =)

     
    • jennyt82

      30/07/2011 at 6:24 am

      Hiya Sam,
      Thanks for your lovely comment, it’s nice to know that someone believes in me 🙂 I suppose weekly contests aren’t necessary I just thought it’d be a nice way to give back to my readers because they’re all kinds of awesome!!

       
  3. 秋月 キサキ

    30/07/2011 at 11:35 am

    Well. I wish you the best of luck, though I will certainly miss getting chapter updates from you on Mondays. :)) I used to hate Mondays, mostly because I get the worst classes on that day, but your FP updates really helped. Thank you for that, and please do keep up with this blog. ^^

     
  4. Kassandra Duric

    01/08/2011 at 5:47 pm

    wait wait wait! Does this mean I wont be able to read weekly updates any more? T_T

     

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
