RSS

Tag!! You’re It! – An Author’s Guide

05 Sep

When you’re a self published author there isn’t much you don’t have to do for and by yourself and I for some reason have decided that I’m going to do everything by myself. I’m not going to deny it I’m quite clearly crazy. I’m going to blame it on that unique disease Writer’s madness. I’ve had it for sometime now so I personally am of the belief that its incurable. I’m alright with that fact though because it allows me to come up with the brilliant ideas for my books.
But seeing as I’m damned already I don’t think there’s a need for all of you to join me in my madness. Let’s try and keep it contained. We don’t want government officials quarantining all us writers for fear that our illness is contagious.

So for today’s lesson we’re going to focus on marketing!

Now like I said before when you’re a self published author like me you do a lot and if you don’t want that Writer’s madness to turn into a genuine case of insanity you have to learn quickly. What I learned this week was the importance of tags.


Tags? I hear you asking. What are they?
Have no fear my dear friends I’m all over the explanations. 🙂
Tags are little markers that allow people to find your book based on the genres.
Let me tag my book Seared by Desire so that you get an idea of what I’m talking about.
-Paranormal Romance
-Vampires
-Romance
-Elementals
-Adventure
-etc

Tags are the embodiment of that age old adage “Small but mighty.” Even though they’re only a few words long tags are important.

I can hear you questioning me again….Fine! Don’t ever say I don’t answer your questions. Tags help people find you and your book especially on amazon that most wondrous of websites where millions of people buy books everyday! I see understanding dawning in your eyes. Let me make sure we’re all on the same page though. You know when you’re looking for a new book but you’re not sure what author is going to do it for you….what do you do? I know exactly what you do because I’ve done it myself.
You head over to amazon and type a keyword into that little search box and are suddenly inundated with new ideas! Hundreds of authors pop up onto the page and do you know why? Tags!! The power of a few words should never be underestimated. Sadly lots of indie authors don’t seem to be aware of the power of tags. 🙂 I’ve seen so many great indie books with no tags at all. But that’s what this post is for. If you’re indie and proud then grab your amazon page and get tagging. The more people who agree with a tag the higher you appear in that mythical amazon search list.

Now I’m actually taking place in a giveaway this week called the Ten days of Giveaways!! And I thought I’d combine the giveaway with this week’s post.

Coffee Beans & Love Scenes Ten Days of Giveaways

So here’s what we’re going to do. I’m going to put the power in your hands once again. I want you to get tagging. I’m going to be giving away a copy of a book every single day from today until the 14th of September.

Now I hear you asking how you win…It’s simple. I’ll decide which book gets given away based on the number of tags it gets. The more tags it gets the more likely it’ll be that day’s winner. So that’s how we pick what get’s given away. I can hear you asking how YOU win something. Simple.

Leave a comment that says why you’d like to read the book you’ve tagged and just click that button that let’s you subscribe to the blog so you know if you get chosen as a winner.

What do you want a chance to win?

– Seared by Desire
– Rocked by Passion
– A Wolf’s Duty
– A Wolf’s Oath
– A Wolf’s Pride

The choice is completely up to you so get tagging and here’s how.

Click the book or books that you want to win, scroll down to the section that says tags and get clicking. Just put a tick into the box next to the word and your job is done. I think that’s enough from me. I’ll be back on Monday!

Remember 5 books, 10 days, get tagging and get winning!

 
Oh and before I forget. What do you think of the taglines for the Elemental Passions series. I just thought of them.
Seared by Desire – She’d burn the world to ashes to love him.
Rocked by Passion – He’d move worlds to keep her.
Whirlwind of Pleasure – She’d take on the heavens for a chance to love him.
Submerged in Ecstasy – He’d destroy the world to save her.

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

Now while I’m giving my books away there are other great blogs taking part in this 10 day giveaway so if you want my advice I’d go and visit them. It’s free stuff what more can I say?

Want more free stuff? Yes? Then just click here!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Tag!! You’re It! – An Author’s Guide

  1. Renee Bennett

    05/09/2011 at 8:45 am

    Hi Jen,

    Tagged A Wolf’s Duty, A Wolf’s Oath, and A Wolf’s Pride. I want to win one of those please. Love the taglines for the Elemental Passions series.
    Please enter me in the giveaway.

    Thank you
    Renee B

     
  2. Leanne Gagnon

    05/09/2011 at 10:08 am

    Tagged Rocked by Passion! Also, Seared by Desire! Please enter me!

    leanne_gag[at]hotmail[dot]com

     
  3. Jessica B.

    05/09/2011 at 5:45 pm

    I checkmarked 4 or 5 tags for all books. I hope that you have a great Labor day.
    Jessica B
    jessangil at gmail dot com

     
    • jennyt82

      06/09/2011 at 10:15 am

      We don’t have a labour day here in the UK but I hope you had a great one!

       
  4. Robin D

    05/09/2011 at 6:58 pm

    I tagged them all, they all look great!

    Robin D
    robindpdx (at) yahoo (dot) com

     
    • jennyt82

      06/09/2011 at 10:15 am

      Thanks Robin! It’s always nice to hear your work has gone down well!

       
  5. Nicole

    05/09/2011 at 8:02 pm

    I tagged Seared by Desire. I think your taglines for the series go really well together and seem to sum up all the stories really well!

    P.S Is Whirlwind of Pleasure available for me to get… 😉

    x

     
    • jennyt82

      06/09/2011 at 10:10 am

      Sorry Nicole, Whirlwind of Pleasure isn’t part of this giveaway. It is a book set in the winter so maybe when I do the winter blog hop I’ll give away copies then.

       
      • Nicole

        06/09/2011 at 10:33 am

        Sorry I meant from the last giveaway… 🙂

         
      • jennyt82

        06/09/2011 at 10:35 am

        Sorry!! I’m so scatterbrained sometimes! Of course you can! What ebook format would you like it in?

         
      • Nicole

        06/09/2011 at 4:20 pm

        I don’t know what’s best, what formats do you have available and which would you suggest?
        Ta muchly! 🙂

         
      • Nicole

        11/09/2011 at 9:46 am

        If it’s ok can I get Whirlwind of Pleasure in the smashwords format?
        Thanks
        🙂

        (nicolehashash@msn.com)

         
      • jennyt82

        11/09/2011 at 10:05 am

        I’m not sure what you mean by the smashwords format….
        You can go for the:
        – .epub format which is for ipad, nook, sony reader etc
        – .mobi format for kindle
        – of a simple .pdf file.
        Does that help?

         
  6. Renee Bennett

    05/09/2011 at 8:48 pm

    Tagged A Wolf’s Duty, A Wolf’s Oath, and A Wolf’s Pride. I entered back in May, and again on Sept 5, 2011. I want to win one of those please. Love the taglines for the Elemental Passions series.
    Please enter me in the giveaway.

    Thank you
    Renee B

     
    • jennyt82

      06/09/2011 at 10:12 am

      I had a look at the tags and it was so close! There was literally one tag that made the difference and the Wolves lost out to the Elementals. But like I said, it’s 10 days of giveaways. 9 more potential chances for the wolves to come out on top!

       
  7. krystallarson

    06/09/2011 at 4:18 am

    Tagged them all, looks amazing! edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

     
    • jennyt82

      06/09/2011 at 10:12 am

      If you were to win, was there a particular book you’d like to read more than the others?

       
  8. Kassandra Duric

    06/09/2011 at 2:13 pm

    Oh poo, WhirlWind of Pleasure isn’t involved in this give away? Oh well, I already own the other books, I guess I’ll just tag any way. =)

     
  9. Sara Hunter

    06/09/2011 at 4:31 pm

    Tagged A Wolf’s Oath. I really love your wolf series. True masterpieces, I really just cant stop reading them. I already own Wolf’s Duty and Pride.

     
  10. Cheah Ming Yi

    07/09/2011 at 2:47 pm

    HEH. Just tagged all of them, hoping to win at least one book so I can just sit down and read instead of surfing the net. 🙂

     
  11. Lacey Kido

    08/09/2011 at 4:26 pm

    Tagged all three “A Wolf’s….” stories, though if I had to chose one, I’d really like to know how “…Oath” ends.

     
  12. headunderblanket

    10/09/2011 at 3:30 pm

    I tagged all of it. But I’m really hoping to win Rocked by Passion. I adore all of your writing! Great work!
    As for taglines for the elemental, I think it’s fitting. Love it.
    Please enter me!

    Thank you
    Dean
    the [dot] random [dot] passerby [at] live.com

     
  13. Nicole

    11/09/2011 at 10:39 am

    Thanks, yeah that helps.
    Pdf then please?
    🙂

     
    • Nicole

      13/09/2011 at 8:34 am

      Just remembered I didn’t leave my e-mail (not sure if you need it but anyway).
      nicolehashash@msn.com

       

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
