RSS

The Woes of a starving artist….

14 Sep

“The things one must endure for their art are many and prove the worth of an artist’s soul and their dedication to their craft.” 

– Jennifer T. Alli

 

Now I’m not saying I’m a starving artist, I managed to eat breakfast just fine this morning what I am saying is that I am exhausted beyond belief. I never imagined it possible for me to be so tired!! Now while I’d love to be able to make a living off my work I’m just not there (yet 😉 ) and that means I have to have some means of supporting myself. At the moment my focus is on education. I am currently in education to become an educator and never once in a million years did I imagine that it would be so much hard work! I’m exhausted already and it’s only the third day of the course. I’m glad I managed to complete Whirlwind of Pleasure before I started because I haven’t managed to write a single word since I started. I’m hoping that once I get into the swing of things things will be better otherwise I have a problem. I need to get writing for Submerged in Ecstasy and I need to get lots done before the 11th November!! In fact if I’m perfectly honest I need to get a mountain of work done before that date because on the 11th November Skyrim will be released >.<

For those of you that have never heard of Skyrim, it’s the follow on to The Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion my favourite game of all time!! My geeky side is showing but for Skyrim I’m willing to display it proudly. I want to do nothing on that day but relax. So I’ve got to find a way to manage the most inconsistent timetable I’ve ever seen, seriously, there is no consistent repetition of anything! I suppose that’s how teachers have to deal with things but it’s rather frustrating for me. Once I’ve negotiated the treacherous waters of that timetable I’m hopeful I’ll be able to get my writing schedule in order. That is if my characters haven’t driven me mad because I haven’t written them!

Alright, I think that’s enough of my whining. I’ve got to get off to uni and give myself another chance to get my life in order. Wish me luck and hopefully I’ll be able to announce this week’s winners soon.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “The Woes of a starving artist….

  1. headunderblanket

    14/09/2011 at 2:50 pm

    Aww… That bad? I’m sure it will all be better when you got the hang of it, and good luck!

    Btw, I tagged all of your books and I’m really hoping to win Rocked by Passion.
    I have read all your works before and I dare say that they are amazing piece of work! Totally love it.

    Dean

     
    • jennyt82

      15/09/2011 at 6:39 am

      I’m settling into a routine now so hopefully things will work out well. I managed to write 500 words for Submerged in Ecstasy yesterday which while I know isn’t much it’s a start. I’ll add your name to the list of potential winners. I’ll hopefully be announcing them this week.

       
  2. dinpoehaha

    14/09/2011 at 3:00 pm

    Man, sounds like fun. Not.
    But I’m sure all your efforts will lead you to success. And I’m hoping it will all be better for you later on. But take care of yourself too, yea?

    I added Prophecy, Fate, and Earth as Rocked by Passion tag and tagged all of your other works. I love all your works especially this one. Beyond amazing, like seriously… I really enjoy it and am really hoping to win it.

    Andina

     
    • jennyt82

      15/09/2011 at 6:45 am

      I’m hoping it all works out too! I’m glad to hear that you enjoy my books. It always makes my day!! Have you read any of the books in the elemental passions series?

       
      • dinpoehaha

        15/09/2011 at 3:22 pm

        Yes, I did read Seared by Desire. And I love it. I also have read the entire wolf series. And I really love all of the three. Though my favorite is still A Wolf Duty. Alex and Tobias are so cute together. Love them.

        Frankly, your works are my first try on paranormal romance. And I dare say that they blown me away. I used to think paranormal romance(anything related to monster) is far too fantasy for me. And you changed my mind. I love all of your works. The plot is nothing like I’ve ever seen before which is amazing and the words just flow.
        Well yeah, keep it up Jenny! Both education and the writing of course…

        Andina

         
  3. katsrus

    14/09/2011 at 3:37 pm

    My son wants that game too. Good luck. Hope it gets better soon. I tagged Wolf’s Duty(& the other 2 alpha male).
    Sue B
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

     
    • jennyt82

      15/09/2011 at 6:43 am

      I’m going to warn you in advance, if your son gets Skyrim you shouldn’t expect to see or hear from him for well over a month. If i weren’t at university, I’d take holiday at work for that game. It’s going to be intense. Yesterday was the last day of the giveaway so I’ll put your name in the metaphorical hat again and hopefully you’ll win something 😉

       

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
