RSS

To howl or To bite?

16 Nov

I love writing in my genre. I get to create fabulous characters and make the laws of nature bow in submission. It’s an amazing way to spend your time even if you get peculiar looks from others when you tell them what it is you write.I’m getting off track. The point is paranormal romance is awesome. But it does mean you are embroiled from the start in that age old debate.

Werewolves or vampires. To howl or to bite?

20111116-172833.jpg

This question existed long before Twilight somehow became the definition of the genre…I’ll make my position on that book quite clear. I am not team Edward or team Jacob. I am team confused. I literally forced myself to read book one and haven’t even looked at any of the others and that’s the way I like things. Getting distracted again. Sorry.
So in answer to the question I am a howler. I love my wolves and am not ashamed to say it! Why because I love the idea of a constant conflict between man and beast between reason and instinct. Sadly not everyone feels the same way that I do and the wolves are portrayed as slathering beasts unable to control themselves which is the exact opposite to how vampires are seen and that is why I write what I write. I like to feel that I’m playing my part in taking on the common perception with my books.
Wolves can be sexy too and I write to prove it.
That isn’t to say that I’ve never written about vampires. I have. I wrote Seared by Desire and I love Lucian but at heart I am and always be a howler rather than a biter.

But now I put the question to you. To howl or to bite? Who has your support?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on 16/11/2011 in Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “To howl or To bite?

  1. Kassandra Duric

    16/11/2011 at 6:56 pm

    I have to admit that I used to be one to bite. But then Twilight came out and ruined the hole vampire thing. Now I will strongly admit to being a howler as well.

     
  2. mochagirlsread

    16/11/2011 at 7:34 pm

    I have always loved Ann Rice and have been waxing for years. LOL!! So bit on!

     
  3. shebabie

    16/11/2011 at 7:51 pm

    I am all for the HOWL ! After reading The Wolfs Oath series & some others … I find myself wishing I knew some werewolf men >smiles<

     
  4. Francine

    16/11/2011 at 10:10 pm

    WOLVES DEFINITELY. I used to hate the very idea of werewolves. In fact, years ago, I was reluctant to read your Love Bites series because I wasnt very keen on werewolves. But now, I love every thing about them. I think it was your stories that actually made me start loving them more! I just love how they can have that side to them that can seem ugly and beastly, and yet they can still be beautiful creatures. I always love characters that have a dark side to them, and I feel that wolves provide that more than vampires. I’m afraid that Twilight has forever ruined my opinions on vampires. Now, to me they just seem like good looking people who suck blood. But I didn’t mind Lucian in your story! He was cold and actually acted like what a real vampire should! I still prefer werewolves more though 🙂

     
  5. edwardowen

    16/11/2011 at 11:09 pm

    After Jaws, the two movies that scared me the most were The Howling (walked home in the fog after watching that one) and An American Werewolf in London. Wolves have always been far more intense to me than vamps, maybe because of their chaotic nature. Vampires are generally more civilized and do have the disadvantage of not passing as one of us unless at night. I am a fan of the original werewolf saga, the beast who is at the mercy of the lunar cycle and the man who is tormented because of it. The wolves in Twilight might as well have shown up to the groomers once a week (vamps not worth mentioning). Guess I’m a purist. For an interesting take on the legend, try “A Lycanthrope’s Tale” on my website. http://storiesbyedwardowen.com/readthis.aspx Flash fiction, written while making dinner. Thanks for the nod to our furry friends and beware the moon….

     
  6. mirriamsmyth

    17/11/2011 at 3:41 am

    This is a tough one. I love the smooth, ageless beauties that vampires are, but it’s a wolf’s rough exterior and edgy personality that draws me. I’d vote wolves 🙂

     
  7. Sara

    17/11/2011 at 3:57 am

    I’m a fan of both vampire and werewolf, depending on the author. To me, Twilight was a big bore. It made both species look like big wimps. Glittering vampires? Really? Come on. And the werewolves looked more like fluffy kitty cats. Granted, they looked really good in human form with their shirts off, but they seemed a bit too pretty for me. I like my men a bit more rough around the edges. Great post. I enjoyed it.

     
  8. JC

    17/11/2011 at 11:35 am

    Howl definitely. Vampires have become too clique.

     
  9. Stefan

    17/11/2011 at 5:11 pm

    😛 Wolves hands (paws) down, I understand why some people like vampires more (I don’t). But I’m never going to be convinced otherwise, I’ve always been on the wolves side, you realise that wolves can bite too right? Just that they can’t (don’t) suck. ^^ P.S. I finally finished reading the wolf series =D

     
  10. Crystal

    20/11/2011 at 1:59 am

    Wolves definitely…. sorry vampire lovers. I find shifting to an animal is awesome and also wolves are my favorite animals… sooo yeahh..

     
  11. Sue

    23/11/2011 at 12:24 am

    Love the pic, both pics
    Twilight is NOT the definition of the genre – give me a break. However on True Blood one gets both 😀 I do some vampire and mostly a devil – current series has both!

     

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
