RSS

Ending a book

05 Jan

So I’m going to blame my long absence on the holidays. I hope you all had a great one. Now in the time I’ve been away I’ve slowly but surely been making my way to the end of Submerged in Ecstasy now while this is definitely a good thing I can’t help but be saddened by the impending finale to my latest book.

I am not a planner when it comes  to writing my books which some of you might find hard to believe because of the overlapping plots and characters but it’s true. I do not start a book with an idea of how it’s going to end. I invent my characters and the rest of their world just falls into place. That’s the way its been since I first began A Wolf’s Duty and that’s how I’m happy to continue writing for the rest of my days. It’s always worked for me after all.

There are definite advantage to this style of writing in that I’m never constrained by a plan that means I have to incorporate certain elements that I just can’t get to fit. The major disadvantage to this method is that the ending always takes me by surprise. There I was writing away a few weeks ago, merry in the knowledge that the relationship between my two main leads was progressing nicely and then I start thinking what’s going to happen in the next chapter and realise that’s it. It’s done. The whole book is going to be over in a matter of weeks. Weeks! It’s not a good feeling and no it wasn’t because I was unhappy with the book and thought it wasn’t ready. No, it was because I don’t want to say goodbye.

I’ve been working with Elle and Gabriel and an entire cast of other characters for the last few months and slowly but surely I’ve fallen in love with them all. To end the book is to say farewell to a bunch of people I love dearly.

This is one of the things I love about being a writer. I can be in love with fictional characters who have no relation or basis in the real world. It’s great and no one (hardly anyone) calls me crazy for it.

I’m getting sidetracked. Where was I? Oh yes, saying goodbye to Elle and Gabriel. I don’t want to! I suppose this is why it takes me so long to write the last chapter in any of my books. The first few thousand words fly from my fingers but the last few thousands take weeks and weeks to complete.

I’m still chugging away at the last chapter. I think in a few weeks it’ll be done. I’ll get misty eyed, I’ll feel a little down for a few days but then I’ll remember that they aren’t gone and by letting them go I’ve given a whole bunch of people the chance to fall in love with them too…and I can get cracking on my next wolf book.

It’s going to be great. I have a whole bunch of ideas already. I can’t wait to share them with you. But I am going to warn you, this will happen again. I’ll get attached to Wyatt and Kass and I won’t want to let them go but as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow I will. I promise. It’ll just take me a while. =)

While I was avoiding writing the last chapter I did manage to finish the cover art. What do you think?

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Ending a book

  1. shebabie Pamela

    05/01/2012 at 8:41 am

    The cover is beautiful !! love the contrast of colors !

     
  2. elizabethadebayo

    05/01/2012 at 8:41 am

    I can definitely understand your feelings of not wanting to finish a book because you not wanting to say goodbye to the characters. It’s similar to the feeling of not wanting a book to end. But please do, so we can all enjoy your characters too. As for the cover art, I really like it. Well done!

     
  3. Nicole

    06/01/2012 at 12:02 pm

    Loving the cover art! Also very excited that you’re nearing the end as I can’t wait to read Gabriel’s story and I can’t wait to fall in love with your characters 🙂
    Will you be doing what you did with Whirlwind of Pleasure and making this available to buy once you’ve finished despite first uploading on fictionpress every week?
    🙂

     
    • Jennyt82

      08/01/2012 at 5:30 am

      I’m not sure that I’ll be posting Submerged on fictionpress at all this time around.

       
      • Manar

        15/01/2012 at 8:54 pm

        Oh please do!.. If you dont I still understand but dam…. I want to read right now!! I can’t get enhough of your books!

         

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
