RSS

Blogging 365 – What a writer is thinking when they look at you

21 Jan

Have you ever had some stare at you intensely when you’re out and about? Well if they’re not crazy or a stalker  they may very well be a writer. This is not a bad thing! When we stare and look at you our minds are racing with ideas. Here are a few potential ones.

– I wonder what would happen if my character did that?

– Would my book benefit from having someone like you in it?

– I like your eyes/cheeks/smile/hair etc I think I’ll give that to my character.

If there are any writers out there I’d love to hear what you’re thinking when you watch people and I know you do it too, it’s part of the job description!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 21/01/2012 in Authors, Blogging 365, Writing

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Blogging 365 – What a writer is thinking when they look at you

  1. Kaitlin

    21/01/2012 at 7:28 am

    “I wish I had a place to fit that guy as a character…”

    I have thought this multiple times, most notably at the guy at my college who walked around in tails and a top hat, and the old man in a brown suit with a dark blue beret and sky blue patent leather shoes. He was smiling like the cat that caught the canary.

     
  2. Elizabeth

    21/01/2012 at 7:30 am

    I used to write stories about the people on the bus. Right in front of them. Give them life that was probably not their own.
    I pretty much think the same things you do, but not the last one. I see my characters clearly myself, but I describe most physical traits vaguely in my actual writing.

     
  3. Kimberly Schure

    21/01/2012 at 8:42 am

    Developing a character is the toughest thing for me. Getting inspiration from looking around you and doing some “people watching” is always a good start.

     
  4. Bailey Taylor

    22/01/2012 at 6:51 am

    This may sound a little on the weird side, but since I struggle with the whole show-don’t-tell thing, I try to pick out any details about the (unfortunate) person that catch my attention. I say “unfortunate,” not for me, but for the person. It’s great for me because my mind is racing on how I can describe this guy or girl, but it’s just as you said in this post. He or she is probably wondering why I’m staring so intently at them.

     

So what did you think? Leave a reply and let me know.

 
